At the feria

The weekend feria artisanal in Barrio Güemes is often lauded as one of the best arts and handicraft markets in Argentina. The neighbourhood itself used to be strictly working class, and if the street art on its walls is any indication, it is perhaps one of the more artistically interesting areas of the city. What I have here is just a sparse collection of stencils that are found around the market. I wish I had more time to explore, but hey, I never said I would never go back someday…

They say the best place to find a foreigner is at the feria. Guess who I met there? Foo Fighters is so popular that Dave Grohl has his likeness spray-painted onto a wall directly overlooking the lanes of the feria!

Dave is always watching..

I thought this was a tongue-in-cheek response to the classic question, 1+1=2, but it turned out to be something quite different…

Alaquas 1+1=1+1

Alaquas 1+1=1+1 (cello in an elevator) seems to be a documentary filmed in Córdoba (2011) about a cellist. I’m actually not entirely sure what it is about myself as I have yet to watch it, but some kind soul had uploaded the film on YouTube, so if you know Spanish, you should definitely check it out here.

Last but not least, one of my favourites of the entire trip, courtesy of Barchi.

He’s got money on the brain.

Is this the same Barchi as Marcelo Barchi of Arte Oculto Córdoba? Their signatures look similar, but it’s difficult to tell if it’s the same person as his paintings appear to be slightly different in style. If interested, Marcelo Barchi’s website can be found here.

More graffiti from Córdoba still to come! I swear, that city is a treasure trove of street art and graffiti. If only I had a better way of getting around than los colectivos, and companions who shared a similar interest in graffiti!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

